The Best Medical Clinics in Warsaw
Warsaw - Nearby places
The Warsaw Central Railway Station is the primary railway station in Warsaw, Poland. Designed by architect Arseniusz Romanowicz, its construction began in 1972 and was completed in 1975. The station, located on the Warsaw Cross-City Line, features four underground island platforms with eight tracks in total and is served by long-distance domestic and international trains of PKP Intercity (Przewozy Regionalne) as well as some of the regional trains operated by the provincial railway service (Koleje Mazowieckie).
Al. Jerozolimskie 54
Ulica Nowy Swiat (New World Street) is one of the main historic thoroughfares of Warsaw. It comprises part of the Royal Route that runs from Warsaw's Royal Castle and Old Town, south to King Jan III Sobieski's 17th-century royal residence at Wilanow.
Built in 1728-1760 (1761) thanks to the efforts of Elizabeth Sieniawska from the Lubomirski family and her daughter Zofia Czartoryska. Late-Baroque style. Consecrated on September 20, 1761 by Kiev's Bishop Joseph Andrew Zaluski.
ul. Krakowskie Przedmieście 34
The Warsaw Water Filters, also known as 'Lindley's Filters', are one of three waterworks in Warsaw, located in areas of Koszykowa, Krzywickiego, Filtrowa and Raszynska streets. The waterworks were finished in 1886, built according to William Lindley's design. Since 1973, Warsaw Filters have been present on the antiquities list.
The Royal Baths, a residence of king Stanislaw August Poniatowski, is one of the most beautiful 18th century park and palace complexes in Europe. One of Warsaw's most famous landmarks, it attracts visitors with its classicist architecture and the soothing green of the park. The name of the residence comes from the Lubomirski family's summer baths which existed in the area in the late 17th century. In 1764, the property was purchased by Stanislaw August, who hired the best architects at that time, such as Domenico Merlini, and filled the forest with marvellous classicist buildings. The Palace on the Water was the venue of thriving cultural and artistic life of the Polish Enlightenment. ‘King Stas', himself a great patron of the arts, invited the most distinguished artist to his famous ‘Thursday dinners'. Located in the downtown area of the Polish capital, the Royal Baths are a popular tourist destination and a beloved walking area for the Varsovians. Visitors are enchanted by the rich interior ornaments of the palace, its reflection on the surface of the pond, and the amphitheatre on the water. They cannot miss a walk in the park, which remains uniquely beautiful throughout all seasons of the year. Summertime, especially, offers many attractions, such as concerts amidst a sea of flowers in front of the Fryderyk Chopin monument, a meeting with stately peacocks, a gondola trip across the pond, or an opportunity to feed squirrels. The park's Old Orangery, full of exotic trees and statues, hosts the country's largest Polish Sculpture Gallery.
Aleje Ujazdowskie 4
Copernicus Science Centre is a science museum standing on the banks of the Vistula River in Warsaw, Poland. It contains over 450 interactive exhibits that enable visitors to single-handedly carry out experiments and discover the laws of science for themselves. The Centre is the largest institution of its type in Poland and one of the most advanced in Europe.
Wybrzeże Kościuszkowskie 20
St. Anne's Church is a church in the historic center of Warsaw, Poland, adjacent to the Castle Square, at Krakowskie Przedmieście 68. It is one of Poland's most notable churches with a Neoclassical facade. The church ranks among Warsaw's oldest buildings. Over time, it has seen many reconstructions, resulting in its present-day appearance, unchanged since 1788. Currently, it is the main church parish of the academic community in Warsaw.
Krakowskie Przedmieście 68
The Royal Castle in Warsaw and the painstakingly renovated neighbouring tenements in the Old Town have a large symbolic significance for Poland. These Renaissance royal residence and the seat of Parliament was witness to many important historic occasions. During WWII it suffered the fate of the rest of Warsaw and was reduced to rubble. Consumed by fire as a result of air raids, it was blown up by German soldiers after the fall of the Warsaw Uprising. It was only rebuilt in 1984. Areas of the Castle worth seeing include the carefully reconstructed complex of chambers which used to be occupied by King Stanisław August Poniatowski. The Canaletto Hall includes a splendid collection of landscapes portraying a panorama of the 18th century capital by the artist known as Warsaw's painter. Photorealistic in their level of detail, these paintings proved to be an invaluable aid in reconstructing the city following damage sustained during the war. The Ballroom is the most dazzling of all the chambers and visitors can admire the largest ornamental ceiling in Poland, depicting mythological themes. These days the Castle also serves as a venue for important cultural events, such as prestigious awards ceremonies and classical music concerts. The Royal Castle in Warsaw is a UNESCO world heritage site.
Plac Zamkowy 4
The Warsaw Old Town (Polish: Stare Miasto, and collectively with the New Town, known colloquially as: Starowka) is the oldest part of the capital city. It is bounded by the Wybrzeze Gdanskie, along with the banks of Vistula river, Grodzka, Mostowa and Podwale Streets. It is one of the most prominent tourist attractions in Warsaw. The heart of the area is the Old Town Market Place, rich in restaurants, cafés and shops. Surrounding streets feature medieval architecture such as the city walls, the Barbican and St. John's Cathedral.
The Warsaw Rising (1st August 1944) was the largest armed insurrection during the Second World War, organised by the underground Home Army (Armia Krajowa). The heroic fight against the more powerful German army occupying the capital city ended tragically for the Poles: 10 thousand insurgents and 200 thousand civilians died, 7 thousand went missing. Eighty per cent of Warsaw was destroyed, and it became a city of ruins. The Warsaw Rising Museum was opened in 2004, on the 60th anniversary of the outbreak of the fight for freedom. It is a tribute to all those who fought and died for the freedom of Poland and its capital city. It teaches history, provokes reflection and moves your heart. The Museum is situated in a former tram power station from the early 20th century at the junction of Przyokopowa and Grzybowska Streets in the Wola District. The unusual interior design appeals to the visitors with image, sound and light, conveying the atmosphere of Warsaw at the time. It not only shows the military events of the 63-day-long struggle, but also everyday life of ordinary inhabitants of Warsaw. Visitors walk along paths paved with granite cobblestones among ruins of the destroyed city. They experience the “W” hour (the time when the fight broke out), printed historical announcements using antique printing presses, a walk through a sewer, and they watch uprising chronicles in the Palladium cinema. An important highlight is the hall with a replica of the Liberator B-24 airplane in a 1:1 scale. The Warsaw Rising Museum is a special point on the route of everyone visiting Warsaw. For the last six years it has been visited by approximately 3 million visitors.
This is a small, triangular square near the cathedral. The name comes from the old-style buildings surrounding the square, where canon priests lived in the 17th century. There was formerly a parish cemetery in this place, and there is a remnant of an 18th century Baroque statue of the Virgin Mary. In the middle of the square there is a huge bronze bell from the 17th century which has never hung in any church, but, as legend has it, when you circle around it three times, it will bring you good luck. Kanonia has the narrowest house in Warsaw - a clever trick of the landlord, as in olden times, the amount of land taxes to be paid depended on the width of the external façade. Kanonia is a part of the Historic Centre of Warsaw (a UNESCO World Heritage Site).
From the Middle Ages to the second half of the 18th century, this was a rubbish dump, but today it is a man-made hill with a terrace. The view extends from the right side of the Vistula River and goes very far east. Gnojna Gora is a part of The Historic Centre of Warsaw (a UNESCO World Heritage Site).
Founded in the late 13th and early 14th centuries, this is one of the most picturesque corners of the city. It was once the main square of Warsaw: celebrations and markets were organised here, and legal judgements were passed on the condemned. The central part of the market was originally occupied by the town hall which was demolished in 1817, and, in 1944, the Old Town was completely destroyed during World War II. All its buildings were reconstructed after the war, and it is a faithful copy of the Square's original look in the 17th and 18th centuries. The Mermaid Statue stands in the very centre of The Old Town Square, surrounded by a fountain. Due to vandalism, the original statue was moved to the grounds of the Historical Museum of Warsaw – the statue in the square is a copy. This is not the only mermaid in Warsaw. One is also located on the banks of the Vistula River near Swietokrzyski Bridge and another near Karowa Street. The Old Town Market Square is a part of The Historic Centre of Warsaw (a UNESCO World Heritage Site).
Rynek Starego Miasta
The Barbican was built around 1548 by architect Giovanni Battista Venetian. Together with the Gate Tower and ‘Gunpowder Gate’, it formed the so-called Zakroczymska Gate. In its history, the Barbican only once took part in the defense of Warsaw, on June 30 1656, when the Swedes invaded the city and Polish troops repelled the effort. In the 18th century, the Barbican was partially demolished, and in the 19th century houses were built on its ruins. During World War II, the entire Barbican was almost completely destroyed, and after the war it was decided to rebuild the walls surrounding the former Old Town, together with the Barbican. The reconstruction was carried out on the basis of 17th-century engravings, and used brick from Gothic buildings demolished in Nysa and Wroclaw. The Barbican is a part of The Historic Centre of Warsaw (a UNESCO World Heritage Site).
A narrow street lined with a stone staircase, which connects the Old Town area to the nearby Vistula River. The first mention of it dates from 1527, when it was described as ‘a great descent to the Vistula’ (‘gradum descendendo as Vislam’). People passed through a crack in the defensive walls in order to carry water from the Vistula. Currently, its route is limited to just two sections: one on the streets from Krzywe Kolo Street curves to Brzozowa Street; the second from Brzozowa Street to Bugaj Street. In the 17th century, they were named ‘On the Stairs’, then later ‘The Stairs’, and after replacing the wooden steps with stone – ‘The Stone Stairs’. In December 1806, Napoleon Bonaparte visited Warsaw and went down to the shore of the Vistula in the company of Prince Jozef Poniatowski via the Stone Stairs. During World War II, the surrounding buildings were destroyed, and between 1952-1962 they were rebuilt and the stone stairs were slightly extended. Another renovation was carried out in 2002, when the 78 steps, wooden railings, gates and wall fragments were repaired or added to. The Stone Steps Street is a part of the Historic Centre of Warsaw (a UNESCO World Heritage Site).
The Museum of the History of Polish Jews opened its doors to the public in April 2013. It currently functions as a cultural and educational center with a rich cultural program, including temporary exhibitions, films, debates, workshops, performances, concerts, lectures and much more. The opening of the Core Exhibition, presenting the thousand-year history of Polish Jews, is scheduled for autumn of 2014. Formally founded in 2005 by the Association of the Jewish Historical Institute of Poland, the City of Warsaw and the Polish Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, the Museum is a unique and unprecedented initiative, spanning many fields of research and drawing on the expertise of scholars and museum professionals from around the world. They also work with the community at large to create a vibrant place of exchange and dialogue where all have the opportunity to express their views, ask questions and grow.
Warsaw Chopin Airport is an international airport located in the Wlochy district of Warsaw, Poland. As Poland's busiest airport, Warsaw Chopin handles just under 40% of the country's air passenger traffic. Warsaw Chopin handles approximately 300 scheduled flights daily and an ever rising number of charters. London, Chicago, Frankfurt, Paris, and Amsterdam are the busiest international connections, while Krakow, Wroclaw, and Gdansk are the most popular domestic ones.
Żwirki i Wigury 1
Warsaw–Modlin Mazovia Airport is an international passenger airport, formerly a disused military airfield, which opened in July 2012, intended for low-cost carriers serving the Warsaw, Poland, market. On February 8 2010, the airport was registered officially as a civil airport by the Polish Aviation Authority. It is located 40 km (25 miles) north of Warsaw's city centre in Nowy Dwor Mazowiecki.
Generała Wiktora Thommée 1a
Nowy Dwór Mazowiecki 05-102
Zelazowa Wola is a village in Gmina Sochaczew, Sochaczew County, Masovian Province, in east-central Poland. It lies on the Utrata River, some 8 kilometres (5 mi) northeast of Sochaczew and 46 km (29 mi) west of Warsaw. Zelazowa Wola has a population of 65. The village is the birthplace of pianist and composer Frederic Chopin, and of violinist Henryk Szeryng. It is known for its picturesque Masovian landscape, including numerous winding streams surrounded by willows and hills. In 1909, on the celebration of Chopin's centenary, Russian composer Sergei Lyapunov wrote the symphonic poem, Zhelazova Vola (Zelazowa Wola), Op. 37 'in memory of Chopin'. Housed in an annex to the Chopins' home and surrounded by a park,there is a museum devoted to the composer. In summer, concerts of his music are performed by pianists from all over the world, who play inside the family home. In an adjacent park there is a monument to the pianist, designed by Jozef Goslawski.
Żelazowa Wola 96-503
Kazimierz Dolny is proud of its rich cultural heritage. There are over 150 architectural buildings and structures, as well as historical monument complexes and 396 movable relics (located mainly at various sacral facilities) which are legally protected and entered into a registry of historical monuments. Apart from the aforementioned objects, 180 other buildings, complexes and memorials are considered cultural assets. Owing to such an abundance of cultural heritage, as well as the unique and perfectly preserved landscape and nature, the entire town, together with the nearby town of Miecmierz, were entered into the register of monuments by the Provincial Monument Conservator as an urban, architectural and landscape complex in 1966, and in 1994 the President of the Republic of Poland awarded Kazimierz Dolny the status of a historical monument (Ordinance of the President of the Republic of Poland no. 417 of September 8 1994).
Kazimierz Dolny 24-120